PDA

View Full Version : Chasing bloodline, where and what are you looking for?

Bojacc357
01-06-2012, 12:37 PM
Most of us have lines we favor. My point however is geared toward are you just buying dogs with the cross or dog you like in it the most times from anywhere? What is it you look for in a particular? Do you generalize that cross or line for what you expect to see or look at the program and individuals? Do you look for consistency and percentages or just buy the blood and say it's in the blood hoping it produces? Do you believe dogs are bred to produce? I asked this cause from the time I was a newbie till now has changed my outlook alot. I want to know what others have experienced chasing bloodlines and when did you realize you were. Did you get taking by pretty peds and not researching.

Officially Retired
01-06-2012, 01:28 PM
Most of us have lines we favor. My point however is geared toward are you just buying dogs with the cross or dog you like in it the most times from anywhere? What is it you look for in a particular? Do you generalize that cross or line for what you expect to see or look at the program and individuals? Do you look for consistency and percentages or just buy the blood and say it's in the blood hoping it produces? Do you believe dogs are bred to produce? I asked this cause from the time I was a newbie till now has changed my outlook alot. I want to know what others have experienced chasing bloodlines and when did you realize you were. Did you get taking by pretty peds and not researching.

I don't believe in chasing bloodlines, I believe in building your own around some key dog (or dogs), and designing what you like best for yourself.