PDA

View Full Version : why so few preservation breedings?

QCK23
01-18-2012, 02:33 PM
I'm new to the dog world so I've been reading, researching, and analyzing peds. I noticed while trying to trace some pretty famous bulldogs that bloodlines are being diluted by continuously crossing. I understand why crosses are done but I would think you would want to have some inbreeding in order to keep a inventory of the original blood on your yard for future use not to mention pure preservation of blood. Like I said I'm just a rookie trying to funderstand the strategy behind breeding and get some other points of view.

Officially Retired
01-18-2012, 04:29 PM
I'm new to the dog world so I've been reading, researching, and analyzing peds. I noticed while trying to trace some pretty famous bulldogs that bloodlines are being diluted by continuously crossing. I understand why crosses are done but I would think you would want to have some inbreeding in order to keep a inventory of the original blood on your yard for future use not to mention pure preservation of blood. Like I said I'm just a rookie trying to funderstand the strategy behind breeding and get some other points of view.

The breeders who stand the test of time always do preservational breedings; there is no other way to maintain consistent quality.

The rest aren't really true breeders IMO---they're more like "bloodline crap shooters," forever "mixing this with that" in an almost a lottery-like effort to hit lighting in a bottle with some kind of "magic genetic scramble." Sometimes this works, but more often than not such breedings don't amount to much, because it is exactly the opposite approach to how all breeds were formed in the first place.