Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Building above ground kennel

Building above ground kennel

So I just went and bought half the lumber section at Home Depot, and I'm going to attempt to make Jack's above ground kennel set up. I had a few questions Jack, what type of hinge and hook do you use for your door? And for your houses, its all types of plywood choices, so I chose the 17/32, if that makes sense. Is that the size you use for your houses, and is it the same you use for your roofs? I have never built anything before, so here we go, pics to start soon as the sun comes out one more thing, to attach the panel to the wood, what do you use for those? Thanks in advance

blak

Blak

I've built several and Jack's plan is as good as any to follow. ESPECIALLY, if you have never built anything before.

Hinges - here's what I use http://www.lowes.com/pd_64172-1277-9...7C1&facetInfo=
    Latch - I like these http://www.lowes.com/pd_445623-48446...t_avg_rating|1
    Just put a quick link or something to hold it shut.

You'll attach your panel to the outside of your pen with large staples - I always use 3/4" (that's the width) and I want then 1 1/2" long. Get you two pounds - that typically does a full pen for you. http://www.lowes.com/pd_58239-37672-...61&Ntt=staples

Best of luck and have fun. Post up them picks.

One suggestion I got from a guy I built some for once, was to put the door in the middle of the side. That's a good idea as you'll be able to reach inside the entire pen for whatever reason.

Good Luck!

Thank you NQK, I will get pics posted as soon as I start, it's such a big project to me, I afraid to fuck off my wood, lol.

I am no carpenter, but the plans I built are basic and solid, and they will last a long time.

Quote Originally Posted by blak View Post
    Thank you NQK, I will get pics posted as soon as I start, it's such a big project to me, I afraid to fuck off my wood, lol.